Mommy weight loss

It’s been about three months since I began changing my diet and most importantly my mind.  It took me that long to realize, that it’s not just about healthy choices but how I think about and live my life.  I don’t want to be obese, tired of every step I take, sick and unhealthy.  I don’t want to be diabetic and I don’t want to feel like I have to hide myself.

A few things have helped guide me toward making healthier choices.  One, was when I went emergency shopping for some pants.  (Emergency, because I had no work pants that fit).  I was in the fitting room trying some Dickies stretch pants on.  I though I had grabbed a size 11 in juniors size when I glanced at the tag.  There it was, I had been avoiding it all this time.  SIZE 15!  I bought them because I refused to go the plus size part of the store.  I put them on with a somewhat loose shirt, trying to hide my shame.  I was embarrassed, they fit so tight, I couldn’t put anything in my pockets.  That sounds funny, but I was sad, I really was.  I kept asking how I got to this point.

The second was my moms fault.  Four months after I had given birth I lost 30 of the 35 lbs that I had gained. I was at 165 lbs and my baby was just 4 months old.  I felt so good to be out of maternity pants and all my other stretchy clothes.  I was having a conversation with my mom about  losing more weight and she said;  “Oh no, you don’t have to worry about that, when your baby is around 5 months if you keep breastfeeding she’ll suck you dry”.  “You’ll be able to eat all day and you’ll just lose weight.” I though, sweet.  Free food for my baby, lose more weight and eat whatever I want.  Aaaaah heaven I though, because if there is one thing I enjoy doing, it’s eating.  It’s true, to sit down and chow down on some good food, taking your time to smell and taste, what more can I ask for.  So I ate, but I chose all the unhealthiest food.  Doughnuts with coffee, burgers, eating out, sweets, salty lol.  I indulged too much and then bam!  I was in the fitting room of some tiny store stuffed into stretch pants, size 15.  There and then was my wakeup call.  I started my seasonal job where I had to take a picture.  They made me an I.D. card, I didn’t recognize myself.  my cheeks, my other chin was creeping into my face.  Oh hell no, I was pissed.

It’s mid March and I’ve lost 13 lbs, I am at 176 I started at 187.  I will post some picture as soon as I find my camera charger.

Leave a Reply

